Monthly Archives: March 2011

Who is going to the OFL Convention 20-25 November 2011?

Listed below are the results of the election for the Delegates to attend the OFL Convention in Toronto, Ontario on November 20 to 25, 2011. Please note that alternates attend only if they are replacing a delegate.

A confirmation letter will be sent out advising of your status.  As stated in the letter, the Convention office at OPSEU Head Office will be sending out a package of information regarding this convention at a later date.

Thank you patience and if you have any questions please give me a call.

Delegates Local Rank Alternates Local Rank
Patty Rout 348 1st Reene Madden 344 1st
Claire Rowett 362 2nd Vince Gobind 311 2nd
Cindy Hayes-Wright 308 3rd Elaine Arts 328 3rd
Derek Bailey 362 4th Leanne Weatherill 311 4th
Dan Murphy 368 5th Melissa O’Neill 368 5th
Roxanne Barnes 308 6th Karen Preston 331 6th
Betty Cree 351 7th Denis Davis 378 7th
Ken Hord 310 8th Sean Dunn 368 8th
Tim Hannah 308 9th Kim Tersigni 376 9th
Terry Heittola 350 10th Cindy Eagle 320 10th
Silvanna Petersen 330 11th 11th
Lesley Chisholm 330 12th 12th
Glenna Caldwell 302 13th 13th
Susan Lusty 376 14th 14th

Regional Hardship Fund Members Who are they?


Region 3
Rank Delegates Local Rank Alternates Local


Judith Richardson 

Stacey Tomblin





Valerie Fraser 

Donna Shea



3rd Derek Bailey 362 3rd

4th Dan Murphy 368 4th

Letter from OFL’s Sid Ryan to the Minister of Labour

March 22, 2011

Honourable Charles Sousa
Minister of Labour
14th Floor
400 University Avenue
Toronto ON  M7A1T7

Re: Bill 160

Dear Minister Sousa:

While I applauded the introduction of Bill 160, I now have some serious reservations with the Bill as tabled. Working with our affiliates we have now reviewed the Bill clause by clause and have identified some serious concerns. Most importantly we have identified that important provisions of the Bill do not respect the intent and spirit of the Expert Panel report and recommendations. Among our concerns is that the proposed amendments gives the Minister broad powers. The Minister may then delegate those powers to the Chief Prevention Officer. This is not in keeping with recommendation number one from the Expert Panel report. This recommendation called for the powers of the Chief Prevention Officer and Prevention Council to be explicitly defined in the legislation. This was the basis for the consensus at the Expert Panel for this recommendation. It was also the basis for Labour’s support of the report and my initial support for the introduction of the legislation to implement the Panel’s recommendations.

When the Expert Panel report was released last December, the Premier committed to implementing the recommendations from the report as did the Minister of Labour at the time Peter Fonseca. There are a number of other provisions of the Bill which we feel do not accurately reflect the intent of the Panel’s recommendations.

Unfortunately we have direct experience of what can happen when a Minister unilaterally decides to eliminate organizations or projects which labour supports. Without consultation the previous Conservative government eliminated several publicly funded projects supported by labour and important for working people. These included a literacy training project which brought this training into the workplace; a project to assist workers adjust to technological change in the workplace; and, the OFL’s WCB Training Project. This last project was saved only because the then chair of the WSIB recognized the importance of this project and funded it directly with some revisions to the mandate of the project.

I am aware that attempts are being made to address the concerns Labour has through the Interim Prevention Council.  Reports to my office are that this effort is showing great potential to resolve our concerns. I would however like an opportunity to discuss these concerns with you at our upcoming meeting on March 28th.

I understand the commitment the government has made is to have a Chief Prevention Officer in place by June of this year so real work on the Panel’s priority recommendations can begin. If we are not able to get our concerns addressed in the next week or two we may need to have the legislative process for final passage of Bill 160 slowed so we can have the time to do this work.

I hope to resolve these concerns so we can work to improve this bill and workplace health and safety for all workers across Ontario.


Ontario Federation of Labour

Region 3 Elections

Left to Right              Gord Longhi (EBM elect) , Sara Labelle(EBM elect), Pete Wright EBM (Region 3 Vice President elect)

Members of the new OPSEU Executive Board, the three provincial equity committees members and their alternates were elected at regional meetings held the Delta East Hotel in Scarborough. Executive Board will be sworn into office on Saturday, April 9, 2011 at the close of the annual OPSEU Convention in Toronto.  They will serve a two-year term ending April, 2013

Executive Board Members

Peter Wright, L.368 – RVP

Sara Labelle, L. 348 – Alt. RVP

Gord Longhi, L. 338 – EBM

Stacey Tomblin, L. 309 – Alt. EBM

Provincial Human Rights Committee

Dave McCarl, L. 330 – Delegate
Wade Stevenson, L. 329 – Alternate

Provincial Women’s Committee

Dora Robinson, L. 376 – Delegate
Melissa Barker, L. 362 – Alternate

Provincial Young Workers Committee

Sean Platt , L. 337 – Delegate
Chris Hainey, L. 340 – Alternate