Announcement from Region 3 Vice-President Pete Wright

Sisters & Brothers

I am writing to you to announce my retirement from the OPS. After working almost 36 years for the Ministry of Community Safety & Correctional Services, it is time to retire. In doing so, I will not be finishing my term on the OPSEU Executive Board.

It has been a privilege and honour to represent the members of Region 3 on the Executive Board. I have enjoyed this role immensely; I enjoyed attending local meetings and meeting the members from across this great Region.

It has been a pleasure serving on the board with my colleagues from across the province. Each and every member brings real solidarity to the Executive Board. There is no doubt in my mind the OPSEU is a leader in the labor movement and will continue, not only in bringing members issues forward but setting social policy that serves the needs for the people of Ontario.

Although I am retiring, I do plan on joining OPSEU’s retiree division. Thank you for all of your support over the years, words cannot express all of my gratitude. I also want to thank my wife Cindy for her unwavering support, the late night meetings and nights away from home wouldn’t have been possible without her understanding and encouragement.

I will always have a special place in my heart for OPSEU and the great members of Region 3.

In Solidarity
Pete Wright

